My First DSLR Camera: Canon Rebel T3

Canon Rebel T3

Less than a couple of weeks ago, I finally went out and purchased my first DSLR camera.  I’ve been itching to buy one for a little over a couple of years, but decided to wait until my finances were a lot better before making such a purchase.  I mean, I had other things to worry about and couldn’t feel right about spending $600-900 on a camera when I had important bills to pay!  So, the wait has been an anxious one, but definitely worth it!!

I picked up one of the “budget” DSLR cameras that just came out this year.  Specifically, I chose the Canon Rebel T3.  Now, to be honest, I really wanted to purchase a Nikon camera mainly because I’ve owned a few point-and-shoot Nikon cameras and I always viewed them to be of great quality.  Unfortunately, Canon had the best deal at BEST BUY and it swayed me over to that side.  I managed to find a deal on the BEST BUY website that allowed me to get the camera and an extra zoom lens for only $679.  It didn’t seem too shabby, right?  That was a good deal for a beginner to DSLR cameras — so I jumped at it!!

Since I’v e purchased this camera, I’ve made plenty of opportunities to use it.  Within a week of my purchase, the company I work for had a volunteer day so I made sure to bring it out to take snaps of my co-workers doing their volunteer work.  I’ve also taken it to nearby parks to take snaps there as well…lol…AND, I just got back from a quick weekend trip to Reno for my boyfriend’s cousin’s graduation, so I definitely made use of it there.

I’ve been using the camera in its automatic mode, so I definitely still have a lot to learn about the camera.  This is one of the reasons why I’m glad that I purchased the “budget” camera first.  It means that I will be able to get fully acquainted and familiarized with the different functions of the camera and how I can begin to take the best pictures I can.  This blog site will be used to document my photography journey and I’ll probably open up a flickr account to link with this blog as well.

About Nicolette

My loves: Travel, sewing, family and MAKING THE MONEY! ;-)

3 comments

  1. Good luck with your photography. I link my images through Flickr into my WordPress.com blog and it works great. Also, congrats on the DSLR, I love mine!

    • Nicolette

      Thanks for reading Nathan! I’m excited to see what I can do with it! ;-) I’ll look into linking a Flicker account soon…!

  2. Pingback: My Ultimate Goal of 2011: Canon T3i | richardo's daily creative lifestyle in nyc

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

